Loch Ettrick Hill Climb Championship

Wednesday, September 4, 2019 - 18:30
Event Type 
CTT Club Event
Meeting point 
Park Village
Race Results 

Here are the results from this evening's hill climb competitions at Loch Ettrick, which was run in cool, blustery but dry conditions. As part of the effort to get more people involved we opened up the event to riders from other clubs. Mike McKay of Classic Racing Team joined us and set the fastest time  up the hill with a scorching 11 minutes 50 seconds - superb! Just behind him was Craig Gibson in a time of 12:05. Congratulations to Craig on retaining his title as Dumfries Cycling Club hill climb champion for the second year, in a personal best time. Ian Gilbert, a welcome new member to the club this season rode his usual fixed gear bike to victory in the 50+ vets competition, after painstaking preparation to find the right gear ratio! Frances Butler, having travelled through from Stranraer to tackle the hill for the very first time, rode strongly with her usual cheerful determination to claim the women's title.  

McKay and Gibson also took the top spots in their respective weight categories, joined by another welcome guest, Jamie Drybrough of CRT, who won the Lightweight category in a time of 12:42. 

In addition to our historic Dumfries Cycling Club trophies, the winners were rewarded with a selection of doughnuts, chocolate eclairs and Belgian buns. We're grateful to the Frothy Bike Co who have donated additional prizes. More on this to come.


Grateful thanks to those who came forward to help tonight: Gill McNeil, Gordon McNeil,  Emma Westmancott, Martin Brown, John Sturgeon and Stephen Spellacy. Each of them have given their time and energy to help the club and welcome our guests on numerous occasions this season and it's very much appreciated. 

Here are the full results. Dumfries CC unless stated:

Donald McCalley 15:07

Ian Gilbert 13:42 - DCC V50 Champion

Frances Butler 16:32 - DCC Women's Champion

Callum Leuscher 12:47

David Doherty 12:53

Craig Gibson 12:05 - DCC Senior Champion 

Gavin Church 12:40

Joe Todd 13:14

Jamie Drybrough (CRT) 12:42

David Keenan 13:02

Mike McKay (CRT) 11:50 

Weight Categories (bike and rider weight): 


1st      Mike McKay 11:50 

2nd     Gavin Church 12:40

3rd      Callum Leuscher 12:47

4th      David Doherty 12:53

1st F   Frances Butler 16:32 


1st    Jamie Drybrough 12:42 

2nd   David Keenan 13:02

3rd    Donald McCalley 15:07 (2nd V50)


1st   Craig Gibson 12:05

2nd  Joe Todd 13:14

3rd   Ian Gilbert 13:42

A Ure, S Spellacy, D Jordan +1